Story Arcs

With my first three books, I researched, did minimal planning and set off writing. Yes, there were points in the story when I was unsure how to proceed but I usually sorted it out within a day or two. A walk on the beach is good for clearing your head. Having begun my fourth

DSC02792

book at a random chapter, I have been struggling and now have five random chapters, separated by years and beginning to think it should be two books because I couldn’t see the way through the woods. I know the story because once again the inspiration is a real person.

In these circumstances, what you should do is to go back to first principles. Get the instruction book out (as I keep telling my husband when something doesn’t work). in reality – it means google it.

So, for the first time, I have created a story arc and guess what – it works. I have the beginnings of structure and I’m also clearer about motivation  How much of what I have already written will go in the bin, I’m not sure. Some of it will need reworking but I can see how book 3 in the Currency Girls series will work.

About Rosemary Noble

Writer, author, amateur historian and traveller
This entry was posted in Plotline. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Story Arcs

  1. Angela Petch says:

    Very interested in your story arc method. Could you perhaps share with us what this is – or point us in the right direction to reference it. Did you draw your own outline or is there a pattern/crib we could use? Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

