Struggling on a Point of View

Last week I wrote about 3000 words of garbage and then rewrote them again, more garbage. I just wasn’t happy with any of it.I had lost my way. Not only that but I had lost any sense of my main character.He was lifeless, directionless, and yet this was the part I had been looking forward to writing. At 50,000 words was I about to abandon the whole idea? It felt almost that bad.

I carried on with my research, but was unsure how I could change focus. I hope I may have found a way. It came to me in a random thought. My hero is on a journey from his rural, backward home into all the best and worst of the industrial revolution. How can I write this without it sounding too preachy and worthy, especially as he and his companion are preachers, on their way to a religious conference? Yes, that riveting!

My idea (and it’s early days yet) change from the third person into a journal, where he writes what he is witnessing to his wife, making it personal, with little bits of humour and tenderness, but hoping to convey the scale of the changes he is¬†experiencing. What do you think? Could it work? I hope to include some line drawings to break it up. Poor husband as I ask him to draw obscure bits of machinery etc.

About Rosemary Noble

Writer, author, amateur historian and traveller
This entry was posted in Ranter's Wharf, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Struggling on a Point of View

  1. Patricia S says:

    Hi Rosemary. Philippa to the contrary, I think sometimes a change of viewpoint is refreshing. Putting his experiences into his own words will allow you to be more subjective without the dreaded ‘author’s eye’ coming into it, and I think it will be great for the reader to really get inside his head. You are a good writer, and I know you will find a way through. good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. indigomember says:

    You’ll have to think as a man…really get inside his head, as Rosemary says. And you already sound more enthused yourself, having reached a solution. If you feel good about your writing, then so to will your readers. Make sure you can “hear” his voice: know his turns of phrase, go and sit somewhere and listen to men speaking, take notes… (I know your character is not of this century, but I think you know what I’m getting at). Imagine the tone of his voice, is it deep? Gruff? It doesn’t mean that you have to include all your ideas into your writing…but if you have a real sense of him, then writing in his voice should come more easily. I agree with Patricia wholeheartedly. You are a good writer. Go for it! And – enjoy! All the best! (p.s. I am going to change my name as soon as I’ve figured out how to do it!!!) It’s Angela btw!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

