What would you least like to give up?

Following on from my last post, I have been thinking about what I would least like to give up. My first thought was reading and books but then I realised that in a home with no conveniences I was unlikely to have time or light to read. Neither would I have been to school probably.

We’ve all been camping at some point, so I started to remember the rainy holidays under canvas in Wales, Devon, Yorkshire etc. Cooking on a Primus stove was doable for a while, likewise washing pots in a bowl on the ground. The worst thing was needing the loo in the night and having to get out of a cosy sleeping bag, find a torch and walk across a dark campsite to the toilet block. The alternative of using a potty was never an option, just the thought of it makes me feel queasy. So indoor plumbing is what I would least like to give up.

What’s your choice?

About Rosemary Noble

Writer, author, amateur historian and traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What would you least like to give up?

  1. Angela Petch says:

    Interesting! Your point about toilets brought to mind our recent month’s trip driving across Africa. We camped for half of the time, which was mostly wonderful…except for a violent sand storm at the beginning of the adventure,when the canvas shook and flapped and everything was covered in grit…The other unpleasant time was when we suffered upset tums.(Probably inevitable in that part of the world). That night decided to be the only wet night of the month…our tents were on top of our Toyota Landcruiser and we had to negotiate a wobbly ladder and cross a rain-sodden camp site before we could find relief in the loos…very unpleasant.
    Having said all that, I think what I would have to have near my tent would be fresh water. A clear, unpolluted stretch of water to drink, heat up for tea and to wash in. Without water I would be lost…(but I suppose that also means I could not do without tea and fire…is that cheating?)

    Like

  2. Patricia S says:

    Pen and Paper! especially pens. I have just spent the most excruciatingly frustrating half hour in the passenger seat fizzing with ideas for limericks, for blogs, for short stories, for marketing opportunities (!) and… there was NOT ONE SINGLE PEN in the car. To add insult to injury, there was a notebook, just waiting to be filled with brilliant thoughts. Have you ever experienced this hideous situation?

    Like

    • Rosemary N says:

      At night, when I can’t sleep, but don’t want to go downstairs, there’s an idea buzzing round my head. I know it will be gone in the morning. Now I keep a notebook by my bed only to find the pen has disappeared.

      Like

Leave a Reply

