The Power of the Internet

I have received a new book (or rather second-hand book) in the post on the history of Grimsby, and first impressions are that is so much better than the one I read previously. More maps, more detail and better research. What I love about the internet is the way you can find obscure stuff and read other people’s reviews before buying. It reminds me of the the first item I ever bought online.

Way back in the sixties I borrowed an LP (record) off a friend. It was by an American folk singer, Carolyn Hester, and I fell in love with her voice but did not buy the record myself. I was still at school and did not have much money. Then in the 90s I searched an American site selling music CDs and there it was, a CD of the same record and a snip, only a few dollars. For the first time I realised how powerful the Internet was going to be.

It does not mean I don’t have concerns about the demise of our High Street shops, nor the demise of my old profession, hit by the double whammy of instantly¬†accessible information and the central government squeeze on local government. But the genie is out of the bottle. Things will not go back to how they were and we have to become creative and work with technology, adding value to services we provide.

About Rosemary Noble

Writer, author, amateur historian and traveller
This entry was posted in Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

